Governor Okorocha appoints his younger sister as commissioner for happiness

After the governor’s decision to erect 500,000 naira statues (each) of some African leaders attracted a lot negative criticism, governor Rochas Okorocha has appointed his younger sister, Ogechi Ololo, as the commissioner for happiness and couples fulfillment.

Her appointment which might attract negative criticism from the governor’s political enemies comes after Ololo served as the governor’s deputy chief of staff and special adviser on domestic matters.

Ololo was among the 27 new commissioners and 27 transition committee chairmen for the 27 local government councils in the state sworn in by the governor.

The very first commissioner for happiness and couples’ fulfillment Ogechi Ololo was sworn in last Monday.

Ogechi Ololo has also served as the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate into the House of Representatives for the Owerri federal constituency seat in 2015.

While speaking to the new appointees, Okorocha warned them to stay away from any ‘sharp practice or corruption of any type’. He said the appointment will not be ‘business as usual’, stressing that his administration will not tolerate corruption and laziness.

The governor who described the appointment as a call to duty, to help the state archive its vision in the Rescue Mission Project, charged them to be good ambassadors for his Rescue Mission wherever they find themselves.

The governor also urged the Transition Committee Chairmen to ensure that ongoing projects are completed especially the schools and chapels.

Below are the names of the appointees and their respective portfolios:

Prof Nnamdi Obiaraeri (Information); Lady Ugochi Nnana-Okoro (Agric and Food Security); Gertrude Oduka (Primary and Secondary Education); Dr. Jones Uzoka (Niger Delta Affairs); Uchendu Mark (Public Utilities); and Gerald Okolie (Rural Development).

Dr. Cyril Okafor (Tourism); Emmanuel Ojinere (Trade and Investment); Chief Lasbery Anyanwu (Transport); Onwueyiagwu Valentine (Youth Development); Mrs. Ngozi Njoku (Gender and Social Development); Chief Josephine Udoji (Works); Achilike Nwawuike (Internal Resources and Pension Matters); Prof. Emenalo Chizoba (Tertiary Education); Nwamerenini Chukwuka (Labour); and Dr. Iyke Njoku (Planning, Budget and Statistics).

The transition committee chairmen sworn in include Okechukwu Onyechere(Ideato South); Sir Anyehe Okeneme (Ikeduru); Julius Onyeneho (Isiala Mbano); Akas Paschal, (Isu); Steve Odoemena (Mbaitoli); Eke Chidi (Ngor Okpala); Aloysius Onwuegbuchulam (Njaba); and Paschal Onwukaike (Nkwerre).


You must log in to post a comment




Password Reset

An email has been set with password reset instructions. If you do not see this email within a few minutes, check your spam folder.

Not Allowed

Your current user level does not allow voting. Please contact the site administrator to upgrade.


Prove your humanity: 6   +   7   =  

Submit A Story

Please login first